CFUW NORTHUMBERLAND. Canadian Federation of University Women


Scholarship Fundraising Luncheon 2018

Joy Kogawa, Photo by Raymond Lum

Joy Kogawa will be the speaker at our Luncheon, Wednesday, May 9, 2018. 

Joy Kogawa was born in Vancouver in 1935 to Japanese-Canadian parents. During WWII, Kogawa and her family were forced to     move to Slocan, British Columbia, an injustice Kogawa addresses in her 1981 novel, Obasan, one of the handful of Canadian  novels that have become essential reading for a nation. Interned with her Japanese-Canadian family during WW2, she has worked tirelessly to educate and help redress a dark moment in our history. 
 In 1986, Kogawa was made a Member of the Order of Canada; in 2006, she was made a Member of the Order of British Columbia. In 2010, the Japanese government honored Kogawa with the Order of the Rising Sun “for her contribution to the understanding and preservation of Japanese Canadian history.” Her recent book is called Gently to Nagasaki.

Tickets are available at Victoria Hall Box Office, 55 King St. W., 905-372-2210 or 1-855-372-2210

Advance purchase only. $65 (including tax and service charges). A partial receipt will be issued.

Gently to Nagasaki 

Winter 2018 Meeting Dates 

  • Monday, January 8, 2018 at HTM Insurance Co., 1185 Elgin St. W., Cobourg, 7:30 PM. Nisha Sarveswaran, an Aerospace Engineer, CEO of Ambience Data, will speak about STEM, Women in Science and Technology.
  • Monday, February 5, 2018 at HTM Insurance Co., 1185 Elgin St. W., Cobourg, 7:30 PM. Terry Rees from FOCA has long been an advocate for issues in cottage country. He's also a member of the Stewardship Network of Ontario. Terry will speak about water and boundaries.
  • Monday, March 5, 2018 at HTM Insurance Co., 1185 Elgin St. W., Cobourg, 7:30 PM. Felicity Hawthorn, a lawyer, will speak about women and legal issues, in particular power of attorney and wills.


Fall 2017 Meeting Dates 

    • Monday, September 11, 2017 at Port Hope High School 7:30 PM. Doors open at 6:45 PM for membership renewal.
    • Monday, October 2, 2017 at Port Hope High School 7:30 PM. Ruth Clarke will speak about the history of Alderville
    • Monday, November 6, 2017 at Port Hope High School 7:30 PM. Dr. Dawn Lavell-Harvard, Director of the First Peoples House of Learning, will address the group on Truth and Reconciliation.
    • Like us on Facebook —


    The 2017 Fundraising Luncheon with speaker, Helga Stephenson, was a great success! 

    Fundraising Luncheon, May 10, 2017 at Cobourg Lions' Centre

    Helga Stephenson will talk about Women in Film and Television and the dramatic changes over the years. Helga is a multi-award-winning film and media arts leader having served as Executive Director of the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) and Chair of Viacom Canada, the Canada Council and the National Arts Centre.

    Helga Stephenson, photo courtesy of Academy G Pimental Photography 2016